May 25th, 2019
Business / শিল্প-বাণিজ্য
NBR to honour 348 income taxpayers across country
September 14th, 20103,184 views

The National Board of Revenue (NBR) will honour a total of 348 income taxpayers across the country today (Wednesday) on the occasion of celebrating National Tax Day-2010.

The revenue board has selected three taxpayers for long-time payment of tax and two for the highest payment from six city corporations and 64 districts.

This year all of the divisions will give award to their respective taxpayers in separate programmes in their areas.

"We will award 35 long-term and highest taxpayers in Dhaka. Finance Minister AMA Muhith will inaugurate a rally in the early morning Wednesday," said NBR member (income tax) Aminul Karim.

An award giving ceremony will be held at Officers' Club to honour the taxpayers of Dhaka division, he said.

A total of 348 taxpayers will be awarded across the country on the day, he said.

"Initially we have selected 350 taxpayers but two of them disqualified for some valid reasons," he added.

All of the city corporations will celebrate the day by holding rallies and separate award giving programmes.

There will be elephants, carts, music and other arrangements to celebrate the day in a festive manner, Karim said.

The NBR will also hold a tax fair from September 25 to 30 as a part of celebrating the tax day-2010. Income tax payers can submit tax returns and pay income tax in the fair. They will receive all cooperation of the taxmen to resolve their tax-related queries.

From Dhaka City Corporation, Begum Motahara Banu and MA Kuddus will receive award for long-time payment of income tax. Mr Rajkumar, Shamsul Alam and Hosneara Hossain have been selected for highest payment of income tax.

Md Abu Musa Chowdhury and AKM Shamsuddin Khan have been selected as long-term income tax payers from Chitagong City Corporation. AKM Shamsuddin Khan, MA Sadar Uddin Khan and Ahmed Kamrul Islam Chowdhury will receive awards for highest payment of income tax in the city corporation.

From Rajshahi City Corporation, Monish Roy and Mohsin Ali will receive awards for long-time payment while Abdul Awal, Nasimul Gani Khan and Kabir Hossain for highest payment of income tax.

Dr Hossain Shahid Iqbal and Tofazzel Hossain have been selected as long-term taxpayers from Khulna City Corporation. Md Abdul Hamid Sardar, Saiful Islam and Kamrul Ahsan have been selected for highest taxpayers.

Under Barisal City Corporation, Md Atikur Rahman Niaz and Md Shahjahan will receive the awards for long-term payment of income tax while Kazi Shafiqul Alam, Matiar Rahman and Mazibar Rahman Khan for highest payment of tax.

Md Abdul Mukit and Abid Ali will receive the honour of long-term taxpayers from Sylhet City Corporation while Md Jamil Iqbal, Monaem Khan Babul and Chinmoy Kanti Das for highest payment of income tax.